Our History

After Independence the Chief Minister's Office which is what the Office of the Prime Minister was called at that time served the public with a handful of staff.  The late Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara was the first Prime Minister with  Mr. Robert Sanders serving as his Permanent Secretary and Secretary to the Council of Ministers (or Secretary to Cabinet). 

Below is a photo of the first cabinet Ministers after the 1970 Constitution.


 1972 Cabinet after the first elections under the 1970 Constitution.

Left to right, front : Minister without portfolio Ratu George Cakobau, Minister for Urban Development Vijay Singh, Attorney-General John Falvey, Prime Minister Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara, Deputy Prime Minister Ratu Sir Edward Cakobau, Minister of Finance Charles Stinson, Minister of Agriculture Dough Brown.

Back : Minister of Health James Shankar Singh, Minister of Fijian Affairs Ratu Wili Toganivalu, Minister for Home Affairs Ratu Penaia Ganilau,Minister for Lands Ratu Josua Toganivalu, Minister for Social Services Jonati Mavoa, Minister for Education Jone Naisara, Secretary to Cabinet Robert Sanders: inset, Minister for Commerce Mohammed Khan  (Source : Mara, Ratu Sir Kamisese: "The Pacific Way: A Memoir", University of Hawaii Press, 1997)

Below is a table showing the former Prime Ministers and the terms they served.




Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara


10 October 1970 - 13 April 1987

Mr. Timoci Bavadra


13 April 1987 - 14 May 1987

Ratu Sir Kamisese Mara


5 December 1987 - 2 June 1992

Major General Sitiveni Rabuka


2 June 1992 - 19 May 1999

Mr. Mahendra Chaudhry


19 May 1999 - 27 May 2000

Ratu Tevita Momoedonu


27 May 2000

Laisenia Qarase


4 July 2000 - 14 March 2001

Ratu Tevita Momoedonu


14 March 2001 - 16 March 2001 (interim)

Laisenia Qarase


16 March 2001 - 5 December 2006

Dr. Jona Baravilala Senilagakali


5 December 2006 - 4 January 2007

Commodore Josaia Voreqe Bainimarama


5 January 2007 - todate

(Source : Office of the Prime Minister)