Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs, Honourable Sitiveni Rabuka received a courtesy call from the new non-resident Ambassador of Austria to Fiji, Ambassador Elisabeth Köegler earlier this afternoon.
The meeting outlined prospects to strengthen the diplomatic relations and partnership between Fiji and Austria.
It was highlighted that the two nations share multilateral commitments at the United Nations (UN) on common areas of interest such as peace, security and climate change.
Vienna, Austria, is host to UN Organisations and International Organisations including the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the World Bank amongst others.
Prime Minister Rabuka congratulated and conveyed best wishes to the new Ambassador and also reaffirmed Fiji’s commitment to further enhance the development cooperation for mutual benefit of both the nations.
On the same note, Prime Minister acknowledged the ongoing cooperation and support Austria has provided to Fiji through the European Union (EU) and welcomed Austria’s commitment to our cooperation in alignment with our priority areas such as climate change, economic development, human rights, democracy and governance, empowering women and girls.
Austria reasserted its commitment to deepen cooperation with the Pacific region in line with vision led by Fiji on the Pacific as the Zone of Peace.
In response, Ambassador Köegler expressed her appreciation to Prime Minister Rabuka for the opportunity to discuss Austria’s plans to strengthen cooperation with Fiji.
She said Austria recognises Fiji’s leadership and hub status in the region and looks forward to collaborate closely in building climate adaptation and resilience, infrastructure and renewable energy projects, economy, trade and investment, are among the key initiatives to upgrade cooperation.
Ambassador Köegler said Austria produces its energy from the hydroelectric power stations with decades of experience in such initiatives aimed at promoting sustainable and resilient development.
Furthermore, she commended Fiji’s unwavering commitment and strong leadership in promoting human rights and democracy, peace and unity at both regional and global arenas.
Based in Canberra Australia, the Ambassador serves 12 Pacific Island Countries: Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.
Translate »